Transformation of historic building into collaborative study and banquet space.
Delaware, Ohio Constructed between 1868 and 1873, the University committed to saving Merrick Hall and bringing it back into useful service for students. Closed for 25 years, the building previously housed various academic departments and a third-floor natural science museum.
Through Donor support, OWU restored the facility into an academic and banquet facility. The first floor is a vibrant space energized by the café, soft seating areas and work rooms for private or group study. The Connection, an academic support center, is adjacent to the cafe and benefits from the high student traffic. The center provides a a multi-use space for independent and collaborative learning. The second floor features four flexible active learning classrooms. With easy to move furniture, students and instructors re-arrange the classroom set-up for each session as needed.
Developed as a new campus reception area, the third floor features a banquet hall with dinner seating for 80 and an additional lounge area. A new elevator adds ADA accessibility to all floors.